October 24, 2016   School Closings
Listen Live WCPN / WCLV
Mission 4
Values 1
Values 2
Values 3
Vision 3
Vision 4
Vision 5
Values 4
Values 5
Values 6
Vision 1
Vision 2

Choose a station:

90.3 WCPN
WCLV 104.9

Merit Pay for Teachers

Thursday, June 30, 2011 at 9:00 am
Share on Facebook Share Share on Twitter Tweet

The Ohio legislature wants teachers to be paid on merit, not based on their educational attainment or seniority. But how exactly will merit be measured? How would student test scores blend with subjective administrator evaluations to determine which category teachers are slotted: Accomplished, proficient, developing or ineffective? And if a teacher is judged ineffective, should they be teaching? A close look at merit pay, Thursday at 9:00 on the Sound of Ideas.


Sue Taylor, president, Ohio Federation of Teachers,
Van Keating, director of management services, Ohio School Boards Association
Brendan Foreman, associate professor of education, John Carroll Univ.
Stuart Buck, doctoral fellow in education reform at the University of Arkansas

Main Topic

Ohio Channel On-Demand Video